I still have my Nyasuba locks. Yes I wanted to get rid of them immediately after the wedding, but since I re-gelled them I have given myself another week. I will hopefully take them out next week on Monday.

I am scared though of one thing- the breakage and matting I will experience after that. This is because the locks have stayed in for almost twelve weeks and I used the styling dreads gel to re-twist the hair at the root.

All through since the installation I have washed my hair every two weeks, and if scalp is too dry then every week, and then I will use an oil to seal in the moisture.

Come to think of it, I have used the styling dreads gel twice. Last tine was last week on Thursday when I was preparing for a wedding and the hair had to look neat. I like how the hair looks just like dreadlocks when gelled down.

The gel tends to bind the hair together, so at the root it looks like you are actually locking the hair. If you are not willing to go through the process then you can just repair your hair by removing one by one and re-braiding.

A few people have been asking what braidsare used to achieve the Nyasuba locks, and you can either use Marley braids or the Afro Kinky Bulky braids by Darling. I used two and a half packets of the Afro Kinky Bulky hair. They are light and don’t feel heavy on your head.

Remember when you are getting a protective style, letthe braider be very gentle. You don’t want to lose your hairline in the process of protecting your hair. It will take time and a lot of effort to grow it back.

I am now shopping for the patience I will need to remove the braids and detangle. The detangling process is what I know will take a lot of time and effort. I always take down my own hair so I am hoping this time round to do it differently.

Last time I went to the salon and I experienced a smooth detangling process. If you want to save on cost you can do it yourself. So I have my coconut oil and Sheth naturals conditioner and that is what I will use to detangle.

I will be able to show you my process next week when I take it down. Watch out for the next post. In the mean time, this week I will post about few of my girls who are naturalistas and how they have found the natural hair lifestyle to be. Stay tuned!!

Published by mariesaru

I am all things love: love for hair, love of amazing relationships and I am here to tell mine and your story. I love adventure and all things books, especially romance. Stay tuned for more stories.

Join the Conversation

3 Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started